India thrash Ireland to sweep series

Adjust Comment Print

The live match India vs Ireland is televised on Sony Six.

Ireland will return to action in August when they host Afghanistan in three T20Is and three ODIs in August, with India now off to Old Trafford for Tuesday's first Twenty20 worldwide against England, live on Sky Sports Cricket (channel 404) and Sky Sports Main Event (401) from 5pm.

Despite the victory, Virat Kohli, the Indian skipper, talked about chopping and changing in the T20I format. After the opening partnership of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, Ireland bowlers did well to claw back.

With Rahul in contention for a starting spot in the middle order, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik will be left jostling for two spots.

While Raina also provides a sixth bowling option combined with his batting, India would also not want to drop Karthik, who is in sizzling form since March.

While Rohit Sharma (97 runs) and Shikhar Dhawan (74) were the stars with the bat, the wrist-spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal bagged seven wickets between them.

More news: SUV that flipped and crashed believed to be part of 'smuggling event'

It's a rare occasion when the former Indian skipper had to sit out despite being in the squad. The two teams have played just one T20I in the past, during 2009 T20 World Cup which India won by 15 runs.

India and Ireland do not have a rich playing history.

India can't lose the series now, so the team management has made a decision to field the players like Dinesh Karthik, KL Rahul, Washington Sundar, Siddarth Kaul and Umesh Yadav, who missed the first outing. Dhoni and Raina are the other current' members from that playing eleven nine years ago.

The Indian cricket team have a full-strength squad to pick from, with captain Virat Kohli back in the team after nursing a neck injury.

India will take to the field against Ireland again tonight at 8:30 PM IST, It will be interesting too see if the Irish can notch something out of this fixture.

Ireland likely XI for 2nd T20I: Paul Stirling, James Shannon, Andy Balbirnie, Simi Singh, Gary Wilson (c), Kevin O'Brien, Stuart Poynter (wk), Andy McBrine, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Peter Chase.