Govt to ensure passage of Triple Talaq bill in Budget session

Adjust Comment Print

Lauding the achievements of the Government, President Ram Nath Kovind said, "Parliament has approved a bill granting working woman paid maternity leave of 26 weeks".

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday exhorted all political parties to collectively strive to create a constructive atmosphere in Budget Session to achieve national good.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Mallikarjun Kharge of Congress, Mulayam Singh Yadav of Samajwadi Party, Sudip Bandyopadhyay and Derek O'Brien of TMC, Bharthruhari Mahtab of BJD, CM Ramesh of TDP are among those attending the meeting.

The Government has convened an all-party meeting in the Parliament Library Building Sunday evening to evolve a consensus on a smooth session. "We should think about the well-being of rural India, farmers, Dalits, tribal communities and labourers", says PM Modi ahead of the start of the Budget Session.

The budget session is split into two parts.

He said that the law to ban instant triple talaq will soon become a law and the Muslim women can live a life free of fear and dignity.

More news: Mahadayi could trigger more bandhs in Karnataka as political sparring continues

He also said that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will leave no stone unturned in talking to and convincing the political parties on the issue.

In his first such address to Parliament, Kovind is expected to outline the government's thrust on development and empowerment of people, especially those from backward and weaker sections, official sources said.

Leaders of the opposition parties are likely to meet tomorrow to push for unity and to discuss ways to together corner the government.

JD (U) leader Harivansh Narayan Singh said that grave issues concerning the nation were discussed.

The Budget session of the Parliament will be conducted from January 29 to April 6, with phase 1 to be held from January 29 to February 9 and the second phase from March 5 to April 6.