Arvind Kejriwal comments on MLA disqualification from AAP

Adjust Comment Print

The commission did not agree, writing to the president in June a year ago that the MLAs "did hold de facto the office of parliamentary secretaries" from March 13, 2015 to September 8, 2016.

The 20 MLAs set to be disqualified include, Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Alka Lamba (Chandni Chowk), Anil Bajpai (Gandhi Nagar), Avtar Singh (Kalkaji), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh) - who is also a minister - Madan Lal (Kasturba Nagar), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli), Nitin Tyagi (Laxmi Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura). He added that this is also against the principles of natural justice.

In its opinion sent to President Kovind, the EC said the MLAs, by occupying the post of parliamentary secretaries between 13 March 2015 and 8 September 2016, held offices of profit, and were liable to be disqualified as legislators, highly-placed sources have said.

Earlier in the day, AAP national spokesperson Sanjay Singh said that the Election Commission (EC) has not followed due process while recommending the disqualification of 20 party MLAs from the Delhi Assembly in the office of profit case.

If they are disqualified, AAP would have to fight again in these seat for which poll will be conducted in the six months after the notification.

While one Congress legislator is the parliamentary secretary to chief minister V Narayanasamy, two DMK members and five belonging to the Congress had been appointed chairmen of statutory bodies here.

More news: Arsenal's Walcott on verge of Everton move

Anbalagan said AIADMK will give 15 days time to the MLAs "to relieve themselves of posts of chairmen and Parliamentary Secretary so as to remain only as legislators as my intention is not to disturb them".

Reacting to the recommendation AAP said the Election Commission was insinuated into such action by the prime minister.

The BJP was quick to question if the AAP government had any "moral right" left after the EC's recommendation to the president. Our good governance has shut down the political shops of BJP and the Congress. In case the 11 MLAs are disqualified, the strength of the House would be reduced to 79 and the half way mark would be 40. Petitioners in the case argue that they have sufficient evidence for the disqualification of the MLAs. BJP people are having problem because of successes of the AAP government in three years. "Shouldn't Arvind Kejriwal resign?"

The Election Commission on Friday sent its recommendation of disqualifications to President Ram Nath Kovind for approval.

"We have sought an appointment with the President".

"The MLAs and Ministers enjoying perks of power and foreign travel-Where is political probity?", Congress leader Ajay Maken tweeted.