Facebook is adding the flawless feature for those annoying 'Facebook friends'

Adjust Comment Print

Facebook has launched a feature to let you temporarily hide annoying friends from your newsfeed.

The snooze feature is based on research that people are more happy using social media when they interact with people they like, versus just browsing the news feed, which some research says can be depressing.

To activate it, click the three dots on the top right side of a post from the friend or page in question and then select the "Snooze for 30 days" button from the drop-down menu.

With Snooze, you can clear your News Feed of friends you still like, but who now won't stop posting about their recent exotic vacation, wedding, or new cat. "You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time". And, just as with the Unfollow option, you can turn it off at any time.

More news: YouTube Will Launch a Streaming Music Service in March

Facebook is calling this new feature "Snooze", and it's one we've heard about before.

Facebook is adding new tools to the newsfeed Friday meant to give you more control over what you see from people and pages you're connected with, including an ex.

Facebook is slowly rolling out the Snooze feature and it may take a few days for people to see it in their news feeds.

The co-authors said they are "working to make Facebook more about social interaction and less about spending time". Rather than going through the social pain of un-friending someone, however, Facebook has offered the option to stay friends with someone but mute all of their posts in your News Feed. But Facebook's elimination of the Ticker tool earlier this week anxious some users that the company was trying to restrict this control.

Comments