Shreyas Iyer in T20 squad against NZ, Murali Vijay back in Tests

Adjust Comment Print

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has on Monday, announced the squad for upcoming New Zealand T20 series. The Indian squad will see the inclusion of two new players in their side - Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj.

Ashish Nehra, who will retire after the first T20 game against New Zealand on November 1, has been picked for only that game scheduled in his home ground of Delhi.

Speaking to CricketNext prior to the first warm-up game against the Kiwis, Shreyas had said: "I feel like I am very much part of the team".

Iyer has also been a consistent performer for Mumbai and India A throughout the past one year. India will play 3 T20I against New Zealand starting from November 1. "We are monitoring the workload of the players, rotational policy will also apply to the captain", Prasad said. In his last 10 innings, 22-year-old Iyer has scored two centuries and three fifties of which two scores were above 80s.

More news: Mersal Dialogues - Vijay Mersal Tamil Movie Powerful Punch Dialogues

Predictably, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja made a comeback in the longer version with Kuldeep Yadav being the third specialist spinner in the 16-member squad. "He is doing well, he has been duly recognised and rewarded as well". "He is still the best wicketkeeper-batsman, not only India has but still one of the best in the world".

"There are a lot of apprehensions about Nehra".

Dinesh Karthik has also been called up while KL Rahul returned after he was sidelined for the ongoing ODI series against New Zealand. Senior speedsters Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma are back in the mix for the five-day format along with Test specialists Che-teshwar Pujara and Wriddhiman Saha. We have clearly communicated to the player (Ashish Nehra) and to the team management that we are only looking at him till the New Zealand series, said Prasad on including Ashish Nehra in the 16 man probable's.

Naman Ojha (capt, wk), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B. Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, C.V. Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier and Ravi Kiran.