Champions League draw 2017: Group stage rules and preview

Adjust Comment Print

Instead, both the Partenopei and Roma will be third seeds in a fascinating Pot 3 with Liverpool (who crushed Hoffenheim 4-2 tonight), Tottenham Hotspur, Anderlecht, Besiktas and FC Basel.

The first games will take place on Tuesday 12 and Wednesday 13 September, with the group phase concluding with matchday six on Tuesday 5 and Wednesday 6 December.

Tomorrow sees the draw for the Champions League group stage at 5pm in Monaco, with Manchester United, Chelsea, Tottenham and Manchester City all confirmed to take part.

Pot 1 was already set in stone as the defending champions Real Madrid were joined by domestic champions Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Juventus, Monaco, Benfica, Spartak Moscow and Shakhtar Donetsk.

United, who were knocked out of the Champions League at the group stage in 2015-16, are in pot two alongside Man City, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Paris St Germain, Borussia Dortmund, Sevilla and Porto.

More news: Of Course Trump Looked Directly At The Eclipse

CSKA Moscow knocked out Swiss side Young Boys and APOEL went through past Slavia Prague.

The 32 teams are drawn into four pots and will be separated into eight four-team groups. Thanks to the away goal, the Ukrainian team goalkeeper Anton Kanibolotskiy has included Azerbaijan in the list of participants of the group stage of the Champions League.

Pot 1 now includes the defending champions and the winners of the seven "best" leagues as ranked by UEFA coefficient. Most of the top clubs in the world that you'd expect to see are back - Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, Bayern Munich and the like - but there are some new faces too.

What pot are the remaining British clubs in?